How does JiaLin feel to be 21.

02Sep13

(with 21st birthday celebration photos in between =p)

Image

Went Redang with my love to celebrate both of our birthday =)

Last time when I was younger, when I tried a lil bit harder and success in things, the compliments I got was overwhelming, even though on a very small matter.

Like, “Woah, you are just 8 and you can help your mummy up with the housework?!” or “You are only 16 and you can put up such a huge event for your peers to enjoy, kudos!” things like that la.

Image

Image

Image

But now? No, I can’t really think of anything that a 21 can do and impress others lo [okay la, except becoming CEO, or super rich, or owning super luxurious stuffs, or inventing something wtf].

But the main point here is, as we grow older, the scope of being impressive is getting smaller. Everything that you used to possessed as extras, are now taken for granted.

Image

Simple celebration with family in da house!

Image

Thanks Papa Mama for this pretty charm! (so many boxes for a small charm ikr)

And what you can do is… No, there is nothing much you can do, except saying wtf and move on xD It’s like,  You just become more and more ordinary, and the feeling is sucks =X

Image

College Friends gave me a surprise visit on my big day =)

Image

So compelled to post this cuz his face is wayy too epic xD

Not only that, your scope of making-mistakes-or-looking-stupid-but-still-able-to-get-away-because-of-your-age is getting smaller too (super long name I know lol)!

Last time, when we did something silly or wrong, we can easily get away by saying, “oh please, I’m just 12, or 16 or 17 or 18”. But, “I’m only 21” doesn’t sound convincing at all to justify any mistakes you might make [in my opinion la]. It’s like the world is getting harsher on you.

Image

Another celebration: with Leo Club Friends this time =)

Image

The 4 April Babies in the club. I was bullied TT

Image

Image

So I guess is this ‘too old to be impressive’ and ‘world becoming harsher to you’ thingy makes the age 20+ a period of drastic change. 

Or too many meanings are assigned to the big number of 21 and make you simply want to change in order to suite this number better XD

Image

My secondary school mates seriously surprise me with their midnight break in! XD

ImageImage

For me, my 20 to 21 has been dramatic. Friendship wise, family wise, relationship wise (especially).

And I personally find that I have changed a lot too, so much so that, I feel like using the word ‘transform’ loll. 

I used to undergo a period where I call it micro-depression [?] lol. That, I’m so unhappy with my stagnant life to the extent that I am craving for a change, a big change. But the idea was too wild and the thought of it scared me away every time and I ended up sweeping everything under the rug. Glad to say that, thou it took me a long while and tonnes of courage (Thanks for those who standby me) to make the change, I’ve made it and I am totally liking the new me =)

It’s like after the long long zaman kegelapan, I am finally honest with myself and become very clear of what’s in my mind and what I want in my life. I am no longer running away =) 

Image

And of course, I have him =) who brings out the best version of me, the version which I like the most =)

Image

Although you are always full of silly ideas and kinda slow & unromantic at times xD You managed to touch the deepest chamber of my heart and changed me in so many ways =) And I felt so grateful to have a man like you to standby me at all times xx

Nah, give you a song that remind me of you so badly =p [ Bring Me Close ]

So,to wrap up, lets provide an answer to the question in the title of the post xD

Becoming 21 feels great in the sense that you felt recognised as an adult and you can show your IC very proudly when people wanna make sure that you are not under-age lol. but I get a little bit secretive about my age recently (21 sounds so not chio anymoreee TT). 

& Growing Up is kinda sucks considering that we came to realise that the world isn’t as dreamy as we used to believe, but hey! growing means changing and it gives you opportunity to be closer to the ideal person that you have always wanted to be. So, even though I rant a lot about it, I still find it a good more than a bad thing =)

too much random stuff in a post,

signing off, tata! 



One Response to “How does JiaLin feel to be 21.”

  1. happy 21st belated birthday~

    so how 21 feels for you?
    for I felt grown up when I was 17~hahaha
    so 21 for is another level, old XD

    but guess what?
    I;m 31 now then I feel young ^^


Leave a comment